Breaking Rank

Breaking Rank

A Top Cop's Exposé of the Dark Side of American Policing

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
The former chief of the Seattle Police Force offers a hard-hitting, candid assessment of law enforcement, discussing issues of gun control, prostitution, narcotics, and race in the process.

Perseus Publishing
Norm Stamper, formerly chief of the Seattle Police Force and deputy chief of the San Diego Police Department, has written a story unlike any other. Part memoir, part polemic on the state of policing in America, Breaking Rank melds progressive politics with hard-boiled reportage in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Elmore Leonard.

With provocatively titled chapters like “Why White Cops Kill Black Men” and “Sexual Predators in Uniform,” Stamper reveals a force that can be racist, corrupt, overly militaristic, and chauvinist, yet is also made up of brave and good men and women. He reflects upon what it is like to kill a man, why drugs should be decriminalized, the correct approach to prostitution and gun control, and how the force should be trained for the future. Stamper’s prescriptions for change are both reasoned and challenging, but at no time does Breaking Rank become didactic— it is a riveting story told from the perspective of one of America's top cops on the street.

Norm Stamper, formerly chief of the Seattle Police Force and deputy chief of the San Diego Police Department, has written a story unlike any other. Part memoir, part polemic on the state of policing in America, Breaking Rank melds progressive politics with hard-boiled reportage in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Elmore Leonard. With provocatively titled chapters like "Why White Cops Kill Black Men" and "Sexual Predators in Uniform," Stamper reveals a force that can be racist, corrupt, overly militaristic, and chauvinist, yet is also made up of brave and good men and women. He reflects upon what it is like to kill a man, why drugs should be decriminalized, the correct approach to prostitution and gun control, and how the force should be trained for the future. Stamper's prescriptions for change are both reasoned and challenging, but at no time does Breaking Rank become didactic— it is a riveting story told from the perspective of one of America's top cops on the street.


Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Nation Books, c2005
ISBN: 9781560256939
1560256931
Branch Call Number: 363.2 St238b 2005
Characteristics: xvi, 397 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Age

Add Age Suitability

a
Al6Hameed
Jan 09, 2017

Al6Hameed thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

a
alexdhopper
Feb 20, 2013

alexdhopper thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 11

Comment

Add a Comment

a
Al6Hameed
Jan 09, 2017

Norm tells the truth as he sees it. He talks about an ideal society and he and his lance set out to create one. Whether this is naivete or courage it does not matter, he has the right idea. It is very seldom that I take my hat off to anyone, but this time I must. He tells us how to achieve this ideal society by banding together. I only wish that he had exposed the source of criminality in America...a perverted, inhumane, God-less Tamahu Supremacist system.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top