The Yummy Mummy

The Yummy Mummy

A Novel

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
The mother of a beautiful, six-month-old daughter, Amy Crane is trying to decide whether or not to resume her high-pressure PR job, while dealing with feelings of being unattractive and worrying that her child's father is having an affair, until she meets the gorgeous Alice, who offers her lessons in the fine art of making motherhood look sexy. A first novel.

HARPERCOLL
In the tradition of Little Earthquakes, Babyville and I Don't Know How She Does It: the effervescent, canny, and downright delightful debut of Polly Williams, a spirited new voice in women's fiction.

Amy Crane's daughter, the exquisite and sweet-tempered Evie, is six months old. any Amy -- who's trying to decide whether to resume her high-pressure job in PR -- adores her. But these days, Amy doesn't exactly adore herself.

Even worse, the whole time she's feeling invisible and about as attractive as a barnyard animal, Amy suspects that Evie's father, Joe, is having an affair. Then Amy meets Alice, who seems to have this mommy thing down: She's single-girl-slender, for one thing, with groomed eyebrows, a smooth forehead, and killer clothes. Plus she has a sex life. In short, she's a Yummy Mummy, one of a new breed who manage to make motherhood look positively sexy. Under Alice's tutelage, Amy discovers that she's got some yumminess of her own. Joe takes notice, as does her handsome Pilates instructor. But once Amy's libido awakens from its extended slumber, a whole new set of problems develops.

Filled with acute perceptions of the challenges faced by new moms, as well as the uniquely terrifying landscape of new motherhood, The Yummy Mummy is as endearing -- and as refreshing -- as a baby who sleeps through the night.

Baker
& Taylor

The mother of a six-month-old daughter, Amy Crane is trying to decide whether or not to resume her high-pressure PR job, while dealing with feelings of being unattractive and worrying that her child's father is having an affair.

Publisher: New York : Hyperion, c2006
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781401302313
1401302319
Branch Call Number: Fiction Williams
Characteristics: p. cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top