The Sweet Smell of Decay

The Sweet Smell of Decay

Being the First Chronicle of Harry Lytle

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Gardners
A novel set in 17th century Restoration London, charting the fortunes of one Harry Lytle, as he pursues the mystery behind the murder of his cousin.

Independent Publishing Group
In the vein of Bernard Cornwell and George MacDonald Fraser comes the first installment in a historical mystery series set in Restoration London and starring the irrepressible Harry Lytle
 
It's London, 1664, and Harry has a big problem. He has just discovered he has a young cousin, Anne Giles, and he has had the pleasure of meeting her for the first time?mutilated and laid out on the slab for an autopsy. His father has tasked him with job of tracking down Anne’s murderer. Harry has some robust assistance from one David Dowling, a resourceful, impressively well-built, yet equally hygiene-deficient, butcher. Together they follow a trail of blood, conspiracy, and corruption that takes them to the dark and murky corners of Restoration London, featuring a great cast of ne'er-do-wells, cheeky wenches, harmless witches, likeable villains, and not a few unsavory fellows keen on sending Lytle and his companion to an early grave.


Publisher: London : Beautiful, c2009
ISBN: 9781905636426
1905636423
Branch Call Number: Mystery Lawrence
Characteristics: 439 p. ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LaughingDad Oct 27, 2011

The writing in this first novel by Lawrence is so descriptive and engaging, I had a hard time putting it down, though it was often 3am and risked getting no sleep.
The characters are fun and the arch of the main character is believable and satisfying. The detailed descriptions of 17th century London and it's inhabitants are so believable, I found myself believing the author had been there in person.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top