The Black Rhinos of Namibia

The Black Rhinos of Namibia

Searching for Survivors in the African Desert

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Houghton

Acclaimed nature writer Rick Bass takes us on a journey into the Namib Desert to follow a group of poachers-turned-conservationists as they track the endangered black rhinos through their ancient and harsh African homeland.


From one of our most gifted writers on the natural world comes a stunning exploration of a unique landscape and the improbable and endangered animal that makes its home there.

Rick Bass first made a name for himself as a writer and seeker of rare, iconic animals, including the grizzlies and wolves of the American West. Now he’s off on a new, far-flung adventure in the Namib of southwest Africa on the trail of another fascinating, vulnerable species. The black rhino is a three-thousand-pound, squinty-eyed giant that sports three-foot-long dagger horns, lives off poisonous plants, and goes for days without water.

Human intervention and cutting-edge conservation saved the rhinos—for now—from the brink of extinction brought on by poaching and war. Against the backdrop of one of the most ancient and harshest terrains on earth, Bass, with his characteristic insight and grace, probes the complex relationship between humans and nature and meditates on our role as both destroyer and savior.

In the tradition of Peter Matthiessen’s The Tree Where Man Was Born, Bass captures a haunting slice of Africa, especially of the “black” rhinos that glow ghostly white in the gleaming sun.


Baker & Taylor
An award-winning author visits the Namib Desert with a group of former poachers, now conservationists, in search of endangered black rhinos that were saved from extinction by human intervention and cutting-edge conservation techniques. 20,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

Describes the author's visit to the Namib Desert with a group of former poachers, now conservationists, in search of endangered black rhinos that were saved from extinction by human intervention and cutting-edge conservation techniques.

Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2012
ISBN: 9780547055213
0547055218
Branch Call Number: 599.668 B2937b 2012
Characteristics: xiii, 272 p. : map ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
aepearson21
Jun 12, 2016

I enjoyed reading this book !! Interesting how this writer tells about the wild animals that he sees and the almost encounter he has!! I wish the Library had more books from this Author Rick Bass!!

e
earthtribe55
Apr 29, 2013

Very good essay on the Rhinos of Namibia, and the meditations of one our best nature writers

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top