Black Water Rising

Black Water Rising

eBook - 2009
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Health Communications, Inc.

Attica Locke—a writer and producer of FOX’s Empire—delivers an engrossing, complex, and cinematic thriller about crime and racial justice

Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist (Mystery/Thriller)
Edgar Award Nominee (Best First Novel)
The Orange Prize for Fiction (Shortlist)

“A near-perfect balance of trenchant social commentary, rich characterizations, and action-oriented plot.... Attica Locke [is] a writer wise beyond her years.”
— Los Angeles Times

“Atmospheric… deeply nuanced... akin to George Pelecanos or Dennis Lehane....  Subtle and compelling.”
— New York Times



Baker & Taylor
When African-American lawyer Jay Porter jumps into the bayou to save a drowning white woman in Houston, Texas, in 1981, he finds his practice and life in danger when he becomes embroiled in a murder investigation involving Houston's elite.

HARPERCOLL

Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist (Mystery/Thriller)
Edgar Award Nominee (Best First Novel)
The Orange Prize for Fiction (Shortlist)

“A near-perfect balance of trenchant social commentary, rich characterizations, and action-oriented plot.... Attica Locke [is] a writer wise beyond her years.”
Los Angeles Times
“Atmospheric… deeply nuanced... akin to George Pelecanos or Dennis Lehane....  Subtle and compelling.”
New York Times
Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Scott Turow, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant thriller—and theBooklist “Best Debut Crime Novel of 2009”—that readers will not soon forget.



Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, 2009
ISBN: 9780061886263
Branch Call Number: E-Book
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From Library Staff

Great debut mystery featuring complex characters of color and creepy layers of history. -- J @ the Communications & Systems Office


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

path111 Mar 06, 2015

For me, a forgettable book. I read it 3 weeks ago, and now could not recall the character or much of the story. The main character lies to cover an event, a deception that comes to rob his innocence and thinking.

Better books out there.

a
ambergrey100
Jan 20, 2013

Fast pace and action packed. The author doesn't demonstrate a great command of the english language( in terms of sentence structure) but that aside it is a very entertaining read. I have read it a couple of times and still like it very much. Love the characters and the action. Seems like it might have been written with the thought of a movie in mind. The author is a screenwriter.

e
Eil_1
Sep 13, 2012

Couldn't really get involved with it. Lots of background on Civil Rights which I've already read. Plot moved too slowly.

u
uncommonreader
Aug 01, 2012

A thriller about Texas, civil rights and oil. The author kept me reading to the end.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top