Dinosaur Thunder

Dinosaur Thunder

Paperback - 2013
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
When a secret mission to the Moon reveals a living Tyrannosaurus Rex from an alternate timeline, Nick Paulson discovers a passage to the past where trapped twenty-first century humans are forced to fight dinosaur descendants.

McMillan Palgrave

Eighteen years ago, the prehistoric past collided with the present as time itself underwent a tremendous disruption, transporting huge swaths of the Cretaceous period into the twentieth century. Neighborhoods, towns, and cities were replaced by dense primeval jungles and modern humanity suddenly found itself sharing the world with fierce dinosaurs. In the end, desperate measures were taken to halt the disruptions and the crisis appeared to be over.

Until now.

New dinosaurs begin to appear, rampaging through cities. A secret mission to the Moon discovers a living Tyrannosaurus Rex trapped in an alternate timeline. As time begins to unravel once more, Nick Paulson, director of the Office of Security Science, finds a time passage to the Cretaceous period where humans, ripped from the comforts of the twenty-first century, are barely surviving in the past. Led by a cultlike religious leader, these survivors are at war with another sentient species descended from dinosaurs.
As the asteroid that ends the reign of dinosaurs rushes toward Earth, Nick and his allies must survive a war between species and save the future as we know it.
James F. David's Dinosaur Thunder is a terrifying, futuristic thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Douglas Preston.



Baker
& Taylor

When a secret mission to the Moon reveals a living Tyrannosaurus Rex from an alternate timeline, Nick Paulson discovers a passage to the Cretaceous period where trapped 21st-century humans are forced to fight dinosaur descendants under the leadership of a tyrannical cult leader. 10,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Tor, 2013
Edition: First mass market edition
ISBN: 9780765363541
0765363542
Branch Call Number: SciFic David Pbk
Characteristics: 356 pages ; 18 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
RandomPainterGirl
Jul 26, 2015

With an epic title like Dinosaur Thunder, the dinosaur-space-time travel novel promises a combination that every 4 year old and sci-fi lover could ever want.

Unfortunately, the book fell far from short of delivering an enjoyable story.

Sprinkled with a hearty dose of female objectification, a tad of racism, and a transparent need to defend Christianity at the expense of the story's flow, this novel culminates in the ultimate male-gaze ending that exemplifies the white patriarchy's tiresome grasp on the sci-fi genre. (Barf)

p
pinky0203
Jul 18, 2014

This is a great continuation of the "Thunder" series. It contains some familiar characters as well as introducing some new ones. There are great action scenes as well as heartbreaking ones. I really hope there will be another in the series, especially with the way this one ends......

Summary

Add a Summary

wseal2000 Oct 04, 2013

If you like dinosaurs and time travel this is your book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top