The Prime Minister's Secret Agent

The Prime Minister's Secret Agent

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry comes a gripping mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. This time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.
 
World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow—including one of Maggie’s dearest friends—Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it’s the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war—and indelibly shape Maggie’s fate.

Praise for The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent
 
“[A] stellar series . . . [Susan Elia] MacNeal has written an impeccably researched, wonderfully engaging story.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune
 
“A treat for WWII buffs and mystery lovers alike.”Booklist
 
“[MacNeal] seamlessly mixes fact and fiction.”Publishers Weekly
 
“Splendid . . . riveting . . . The research is complete and fascinating. . . . The scenes are so detailed that readers will feel as if they are next to the characters and listening to them speaking.”RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)
 
“Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd will feast on this riveting series chronicling Britain’s own ‘Greatest Generation.’ MacNeal’s research and gift for dialogue shine through on every page, transporting the reader to Churchill’s inner circle. The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent is both top-drawer historical fiction and mystery in its finest hour.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days
 
Praise for Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope mysteries
 
“You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“A heart-pounding novel peopled with fully drawn real and fictional characters . . . provides the thrills that readers have come to expect from MacNeal.”Richmond Times-Dispatch, on His Majesty’s Hope
 
“With false starts, double agents, and red herrings . . . MacNeal provides a vivid view of life both above and below stairs at Windsor Castle.”Publishers Weekly, on Princess Elizabeth’s Spy

Baker & Taylor
Returning as a teacher to her former training camp after a traumatic undercover mission, Maggie investigates a series of poisonings and Churchill's growing stockpile of biological weapons in anticipation of a Nazi invasion. By the Edgar Award-nominated author of Princess Elizabeth's Spy. Original. 35,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

"Maggie Hope has returned from her undercover mission in Berlin with scars not just on her body but on her soul. Instead of going on another Special Operations assignment in war-torn Europe, she returns to one of her old spy training camps in western Scotland, this time as a teacher. But instead of the tedium Maggie is expecting, she's drawn against her will into another web of danger, this time involving a terrifying biological weapon secretly developed and stockpiled by Churchill for the anticipated Nazi invasion. Maggie's failure to solve a series of deadly poisonings could endanger the lives of the entire British civilian population--but what will be the cost of success?"--
Undercover agent Maggie Hope returns to western Scotland to work as a teacher, but while investigating a series of deadly poisonings she discovers a secret biological weapons program run by the government, which could endanger the entire British civilianpopulation.

Publisher: New York : Bantam Books Trade Paperback , [2014]
ISBN: 9780345536747
0345536746
Branch Call Number: Mystery MacNeal
Characteristics: 306 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Patti’s Picks 2014

My Favorite Books This Year All fiction books below are mysteries (and probably part of a series) except where described as something else. I really, really enjoyed all of these books, and hope that you may find something you like among them. This one of my favorite things to share at the end of the year and the beginning of the new one. Fiction  The Garden of Burning Sand by Corban Addison    ... (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
carol507
May 01, 2015

Another great book in the Maggie Hope series - looking forward to the next one - Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante

d
DorisWaggoner
Feb 12, 2015

The bare outline of the plot of this 4th in the series is a bit over the top. But the reading is just as much fun as the others, with perhaps even more moral and ethical undertone. Maggie helps save the life of Sarah the ballerina, one of her oldest friends. She ends up back where she started, as Churchill's secretary, as he heads to America to meet with Roosevelt after Pearl Harbor. The difference now is that she's going also as his spy. MacNeal has a wonderful way with dialog and can bring alive the war years with the smallest of details.

booklady413 Oct 15, 2014

I love this series. Historical fiction in the 1940's is, for me, the best genre, and I can't wait for the next book in the series, Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante.

a
abookandacuppa
Sep 07, 2014

Intrigue, romance, and drama during WWII--this latest installment does not disappoint! Great series!

q
QED
Jul 22, 2014

I have read all her prior works in this series and loved them all. I cannot wait for the next installment!!!

Pippi_L Jul 11, 2014

If you like the Bletchley Circle, you'll love this new mystery set during WWII and also involving secret agents and code-breakers.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top