Girl at War

Girl at War

A Novel

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE AND BOOKLIST ђ́Ø For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age--and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juri♯ј is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world. New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war--secrets she...
Publisher: New York : Random House, 2015
ISBN: 9780812996357
Branch Call Number: E-Book
Characteristics: 1 online resource
data file

Opinion

From Library Staff

A young girl grows up during the civil war in Yugoslavia in the 1990's. Excellent debut novel.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
BPLpicks Mar 13, 2019

“Girl at War,” shares the fictional story of Ana Jurić, a young Croatian girl who loses her family during the Yugoslavian civil wars. A haunting coming-of-age story where readers are taken deep into a world of darkness, guerilla warfare, loss, and survival. A harsh reminder that war does not discriminate based on age.

j
josiegoosebumps
Jan 12, 2019

An amazing book truly one of the best of the best reads.

JCLMeganK Oct 04, 2018

When civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, Ana's family suffers the consequences. In 1991 Ana is a 10 year old Croatian girl, running through the streets of Zagreb as war advances through the country. In 2001, she is a twenty year old student living in Manhattan, learning to cope with the realities of her past and what that means for her future. I highly recommend this book. I did not know much about the history of Yugoslavia before reading this novel, and it taught me a lot about this war that happened less than thirty years ago. This book is well written, and allows the reader to understand what it is like for a child to feel the repercussions of war as they grow into adulthood.

i
Imagine_that_7
Mar 04, 2018

This was an amazing book! I read it 2 years ago and then, today, i read it again. I chose this book for my book report because its an amazing, frightening and interesting book. I love how it showed that Ana (main character) still surfers in the future that her memories of her past life will never fade away. And that she will live with that memory forever. Now I don t want to spoil the book for anyone, if I m not making any sense.

s
SandraLH
Mar 11, 2017

Gut-wrenching story. Well-written historical fiction with interesting characters. Will read again sometime.

FW_librarian Jan 23, 2017

Written from the point of view and voice of a young woman who feels she must return to the country where she experienced horrific events and to confront her current life's decisions and relationships. The level of writing is more directed to teens but anyone who reads it will be drawn to research more about the complicated war and breakup of the Balkan countries.

h
haileyj
Oct 12, 2016

This is another story of war written from the point of view of a child living through it. The horrors are similar to other stories on the subject but where this one is different is that the child was adopted by an American family and grew up from age 10 onwards in New York. The story flips back and forth between the past and present but manages to stay coherent and interesting.

tritonesub May 01, 2016

What a moving page turner of a book, which I couldn't put down for three days. In the words of Julia Glass included in the insightful Readers' Guide at the end of the book, this is a "story about how human beings endure, even find a way to thrive, in the face of inconsolable loss; that's what all the best fiction shows us."

kirstd31 Mar 25, 2016

This book was okay. I did not like how it skipped around.

d
DeltaQueen50
Mar 16, 2016

Girl At War is a well written mix of a coming-of-age story, a story of war, and a story of love and remembrance. There are a number of books written from a child’s point of view with a backdrop of war and although Girl At War doesn’t have anything new to add, Ana’s story is both heartfelt and engaging and well worth picking up.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
PCPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top