Stir

Stir

A My Broken Brain and the Meals That Brought Me Home

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
"After suffering a brain aneurysm and a life-threatening infection, Jessica Fechtor set about cooking and baking to pull herself back together again, fixing what was broken, and living with what couldn't be fixed"-- Provided by publisher.
" M.F.K. Fisher meets Brain on Fire in this exquisite memoir of a 28-year-old food blogger who cooks her way back to health after a near-fatal aneurysm Jessica Fechtor was on top of the world: a Harvard graduate student, happily married, and thinking about starting a family. Then, while attending an academic conference, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. Multiple surgeries left her skull startlingly deformed. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and her confidence about who she was and what mattered. Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was strong enough to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she learned about the restorative powers of kneading, salting, and sifting, that food had something to tell her, and that it felt good to listen. For readers of Molly Wizenberg, Tamar Adler, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, as well as Oliver Sacks and Jill Bolte Taylor, Stir is a memoir (with recipes) of what it means to fix what's broken and live with what can't be fixed, to nourish and be nourished, to remember what it is to be hungry, honor that hunger, and learn how to feed it"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York : Avery, [2015]
ISBN: 9781594631320
Branch Call Number: 92 F315s 2015
Characteristics: xii, 271 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

December Book Riot Challenge: One Month Left!

One month to go in the Book Riot Challenge! (See the tag below for earlier entries.) Karen and William have been keeping on pace reading at least two books a month in selected categories. This month the challenges were: Read a Food Memoir Read a book about politics, in your country or another William: I have never read a food memoir. I've flipped through a few cookbooks, and even made a fe… (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Summary

Add a Summary

ninafried Dec 19, 2015

Terrific book.

d
dfpoz
Oct 14, 2015

I LOVE this book. Rarely, do I find that a book jacket quote of a book being "impossible to put down" to be true. This is one of those times.

It is a great read for anyone who has been through a medical, neurological experience or who is a friend, relative or caregiver. You get the whole experience here--the confusion, frustration, challenges & moving on with life after. IMO, every neurosurgeon's office & every neuro support group should have this as required reading!

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lgold08540
Jun 30, 2015

Too sugarcoated for my liking, and her journey of recovery is too seamless. It is hard to feel empathy for this Harvard PHD candidate and her "broken brain."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top