The Summer Queen

The Summer Queen

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Thirteen-year-old Eleanor of Aquitaine is forced into a marriage she does not want, and when a death thrusts her into the role of queen, she faces scandal, forbidden love, and the complexities of the ruthless French court at every turn.

Sourcebooks Inc.

"A magnificent woman's story told by a brilliant historical novelist; realistic, emotional, vibrant, exciting and unputdownable."—RT Book Reviews, July Top Pick

Scandal, politics, sex, triumphs, and tragedies abound in The Summer Queen, the first novel in a stunning new trilogy, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Sharon Kay Penman

At the age of thirteen, Eleanor of Aquitaine is forced to leave everything behind, marry a man she doesn't love, and take the throne to reign as Queen of France. Eleanor's new life is full of risk—and unlimited opportunity. Barely out of childhood and faced with great scandals, fraught relationships, and forbidden love at every turn, Eleanor must use all her cunning to secure her future as one of the most powerful women in the world.

The Eleanor of Aquitaine Trilogy:
The Summer Queen (Book 1)
The Winter Crown (Book 2)
The Autumn Throne (Book 3)

Praise for The Summer Queen:
"The Summer Queen is a fabulous novel based on the most up-to-date and meticulous research. This is historical fiction at its best and I loved every page of it."—For Winter Nights: A bookish blog



Publisher: Naperville : Sourcebooks Landmark, 2014
ISBN: 9781402294082
9781402294075
Branch Call Number: E-Book
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Aug 20, 2013

At the behest of her dying father, 13-year-old Eleanor, daughter of Duke William of Aquitaine, weds Louis, Crown Prince of France, in order to ensure the duchy's safety. When their union proves disastrous, Eleanor negotiates an annulment and wins her freedom - just in time to meet the dashing Henry, Duke of Normandy and future King of England. Inspired by Eleanor of Aquitaine, Sharon Kay Penman's Time and Chance examines her tumultuous marriage to Henry II, and Alison Weir's Captive Queen recounts her later life, including her long imprisonment. Historical Fiction February 2015 newsletter.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Violet_Cat_732 Mar 14, 2016

Violet_Cat_732 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 20 and 35

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top