You Were Here

You Were Here

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Discovering a list of daredevil stunts left behind by her late extreme-sports maverick brother, Jaycee vows to complete the dares at any cost before she is challenged by her eccentric friends to reclaim the part of herself that she buried with her brother.

Sourcebooks Inc.

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Jandy Nelson.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can ? by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends ? all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and... Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak, and inevitable change.

"You Were Here is wrenchingly beautiful in its honest and achingly accurate portrayal of grief and how it breaks us-and the way unconditional friendship puts us back together."?Jo Knowles, award-winning author of See You At Harry's and Read Between the Lines

"The urban explorers of You Were Here dive deep into the forgotten man-made spaces all around them?and their own feelings of loss, love, and fear. McCarthy deftly intertwines the characters' stories, filling them with authentic pain and heartache as well as soaring moments of grace and humor. I dare you to read it!" ?Maggie Lehrman, author of The Cost of All Things

Publisher: Naperville, IL : Sourcebooks Fire, 2017
ISBN: 9781492635918
Branch Call Number: Fiction McCarthy TEEN
Characteristics: [416 p.] : ill. ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Apr 08, 2016

It’s the five-year anniversary of Jake’s death, and his 18-year-old sister Jaycee is still grieving. In order to feel closer to him, she wears his clothes and recreates the daredevil stunts he performed while exploring abandoned sites and buildings. A group of friends decide to tag along with her: Nathalie, her bossy, cautious ex-best friend, Zach, an inveterate gamer, Bishop, a broken-hearted young man, and Mik, Jake’s mysterious friend. Will Jaycee be able to put the past behind her and look to the future?

You Were Here is a young adult fiction that will also appeal to adult readers. The story is told from 5 different points of view: Jaycee’s is written in the first person, while the other characters’ are in the 3rd person. The book is a mixed media novel that alternates between prose (Jaycee, Nathalie and Zach), graphic novel (Mik) and word art poetry (Bishop). The artwork is beautiful, and it allows the story to be more energetic and powerful. You Were Here deals with two important themes: mourning and depression, but it does so without weighing down the story. In addition, I especially enjoyed the fact that the group of friends went urban exploring. It reminded me of my childhood when I lived close to an airport where a lot of buildings were abandoned. Like Jaycee’s group of friends, I was curious about what these sites were hiding. However, I must say though that I was sometimes impatient with Jaycee, with the way she reacted. On the whole though, this novel was original and entertaining, and I highly recommend it.

You Were Here was sent to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

Please go to my blog, Cecile Sune - Bookobsessed, if you would like to read more reviews or discover fun facts about books and authors.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PCPL

To Top