Sounds and Sweet Airs

Sounds and Sweet Airs

The Forgotten Women of Classical Music

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Sounds and Sweet Airs reveals the hidden stories of eight remarkable female composers, taking the reader on a journey from seventeenth-century Medici Florence to London in the Blitz.
Publisher: London, England : Oneworld Publications, 2016
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781780748566
Branch Call Number: 780.922 B3924s 2016
Characteristics: xi, 368 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Sep 09, 2016

Unfortunately, as interesting as this topic might have been, the writing is generally dry and uninspiring. Moreover, while the book has a bibliography, the text itself has no footnotes, even though the author quotes individuals throughout the book, refers to other works, and makes questionable statements and allegations.
The book, consequently, has a decided lack of authenticity; nevertheless, the book probably is unique in its scope, so I would give it a lukewarm recommendation to those who might be interested.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PCPL

To Top