eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Believing that she will never be allowed to participate in the annual Caraval performance when her ruthless father arranges her marriage, Scarlett receives the invitation she has always dreamed of before her sister, Tella, is kidnapped by the show's mastermind organizer. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook.

McMillan Palgrave

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to CaravalStephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It’s the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

New York Times bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Year
Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year
BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year
The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.”Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA Today
“Spellbinding.” US Weekly
“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world.” —Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” —Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” —Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” —Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” —Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.”Kirkus Reviews
Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.School Library Journal

Publisher: 2017
ISBN: 9781250095275
Branch Call Number: E-Book TEEN
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource


From Library Staff

"Read a debut novel."

PimaLib_ChristineR Feb 09, 2017

Let me begin with why I didn't give this a five star as so many have. I felt that the beginning of the book was not the strongest. We have two sisters who evidently had a happy home until their mother's disappearance. When that happened, out of the blue, the father begins torturing the sisters, p... Read More »

YA fantasy title that looks very interesting. A circus themed survival game? A competition? Hmm.

From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

SPPL_Violet Mar 17, 2018

Carnival, magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, danger....great ingredients for a book.

Mar 15, 2018

I picked up this book because it had raving reviews on another website but I found it slow and the storyline was a bit boring. Sorry!

Mar 06, 2018

I read this book for the "Any Book From The 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards" part of my 2018 reading challenge. I liked it, it was a really quick read for the size of the book. It felt quite Alice In Wonderland-y with all the colours and descriptions of Caraval. Hopefully the movie deal follows through, as for once I feel this story would be better seen than read.

Feb 11, 2018

Okay, while this book could have maybe done a better job at developing the characters and analyzing the scenes from Scarlett's point of view (almost too plot-heavy, needed more substance at times) I loved this book. It kept me on my toes, made me question what elements of the story were true or not, and made me appreciate the thought and time that must have gone into this story. It was extremely well done and I loved it.

Jan 15, 2018

Love this story. Original, adventurous and wow. From the very best page I was pulled into the story. I can't wait to read the next book.

Nov 12, 2017

The lines of reality and imagination are blurred here, in this phenomenal read of magic and wonder. This book will leave you on the very edge of excitement and keep you up past your curfew (as it does get scarier in the dark). I absolutely adored the protagonist and her selfless devotion to her sister, throughout the entirety of the story. Scarlett, our heroine, is caught in a game she has been entranced by since childhood, but at a cost. If she wins, she is granted a wish. However, much is at stake (her sister, time, marriage, etc). Will her partnership with an unlikely sailor (who is not what he seems) prove successful? Or is it all just one elaborate lie in the end? A must read of 5/5 stars!!
- @Siri of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

Oh my. This was eerie, mysterious, beautiful and magical all in one, and I couldn’t have loved it more! This book was a wild goose chase but it was so different. If you’re looking for the next Wizard of Oz, trust me when I say this book will give out these vibes. Scarlett has been betrothed to a count of a land she does not know, and a man who is the same. But she is happy. Anything to take her away from her brutal and abusive father and protect herself and her sister Donatella. What she didn’t expect is that after seven years of yearning for tickets to the Caraval, a week before her wedding they arrive. When Tella makes the decision for both of them and takes the help of a sailor named Julian, Scarlett has to follow. But little does she know that the Master Legend has captured Tella and she is the center of the game; the prize to be sought after. All the interconnections between characters were likeable, although the end was confusing and a bit rushed. Overall, a great read! Rating 4/5
- @jewelreader of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

This book is filled with mind-bending magic and dazzling suprises and mysteries all along the way. One of my favourite things about this book is that it stretches your imagination to the maximum. It is filled with captivating descriptions, and original ideas that I would have never thought of. The main character Scarlett has always been attracted to the game Caraval. The prize for winning is a wish, but soon more complications are added to the mix; her sister is suddenly taken and Scarlett must make her way to the end of the game in order to find her. This book is filled with clues, mysteries, and action in every chapter. The game Caraval itself has magical fairytale-like touches to it and sometimes even a dark and threatening vibe. Our characters here are likable and building interesting relationships. The ending is an explosion of action and revelations that blew me away. Definitely a great read!
- @Lumos of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

Oct 25, 2017

Interesting idea, but I wasn't engaged.

Oct 12, 2017

I wasn't sure how much I was going to enjoy this book from some of the reviews I had read. I'd seen some mixed reviews. I went into this at random not expecting a whole lot, but boy was I surprised! I enjoyed this book a lot! I can see some of the similarities to The Night Circus, but this seemed to be in all in all different ball game. I wasn't sure how the story was going to turn out with all the plot twists. I'm still not sure what's going to happen next (please let there be a second book!) Scarlett was a as a matter of fact a likable character. More likable than her sister Tella seemed to be. I would like to know more about Legend because none of my questions were beyond doubt answered about him. For me, this book was hard to put down and was aloof what I needed for a fun read!

Oct 01, 2017

What I loved the most about the book was the setting of Caraval. It’s so beautifully descriptive it feels like a magical place. You’re taken back to the feeling when you were a wee little one and you’re in Disneyland for the first time in your life. It’s that magical feel good feeling that comes back to you when you’re reading the book. At the same time you know things aren’t what they seem and there’s some dark undertones to Caraval. It’s hard not to get swept away (as they have warned you) because everything seems so real and fun.

I loved the plot throughout the book. Like Scarlett, you had doubts as to whether things were real or not. By the time you finished the novel you were still doubting what was real and what wasn’t. Scarlett was at times frustrating and irritating. She hesitated at the wrong times and didn’t listen to anyone when she really needed to. Argh. You wanted to jump in and drag her to point her to the right direction. I didn’t really see her well with Julian because I really saw Julian as more of a means to an end because he guided her throughout the game. However I have to admit, I liked it when he called her ‘Crimson’ it suited his personality at the time (I hope he doesn’t stop calling her that, it adds more to their characters.)

The last few pages of the novel though. Wow. You’re blown away and you’ll have your heart wrenched and torn out of your chest and then it’s put back in. Yet it doesn’t feel the same anymore and you’re left with more questions and wanting more. OH MY GOD I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE SECOND BOOK! I NEED ANSWERS!

Greatly recommended. Immerse yourself into the world and enjoy. You’ll probably get carried away like I did. Get ready for some good twists that are gut wrenching. You’re not left the same after reading it.

Aug 04, 2017

I really enjoyed this book, but Scarlett was getting on my last nerves.

View All Comments


Add a Quote

Apr 13, 2017

“She imagined loving him would feel like falling in love with darkness, frightening and consuming yet utterly beautiful when the stars came out.”

Apr 13, 2017

“No one is truly honest,” Nigel answered. “Even if we don't lie to others, we often lie to ourselves. And the word good means different things to different people.”

Apr 13, 2017

“Every person has the power to change their fate if they are brave enough to fight for what they desire more than anything.”


Add Age Suitability

Jan 15, 2018

Natashastales thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PCPL

To Top