The Well of Lost Plots

The Well of Lost Plots

eBook - 2004
Average Rating:
4
1
1
 …
Rate this:
The third installment in Jasper Fforde's New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it's up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday's zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde's latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!
Publisher: 2004
ISBN: 9781101158623
Branch Call Number: E-Book
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

bwortman Mar 28, 2013

Another delightful turn in the series, Fforde deftly creates a fantastic world that is an absolute delight. While at some points it did feel as though the plot were meandering a bit and Fforde was simply showing off his fantasy world, it's a great world to show off and I didn't really mind. Of course, the plot also builds to an impressive crescendo that rattles on to a satisfying conclusion.

g
gearhead
May 05, 2009

just read it, you will like

l
lindeeana
Jun 13, 2008

This is book 3 of the Thursday Next series.

k
KarenW
Jul 09, 2004

Thursday Next is back! In the third outing, Fforde has provided us with a deeper glimse into a world filled with books and book lovers. This time, Thursday is hiding out in the Well of Lost Plots (WOLP) in order to finish her apprenticeship with Miss Havisham. The usual hilarious mayhem is woven in tightly with a nefarious villain, and a few murders. There is also a foray into Wuthering Heights for some much needed counselling in anger management, training on how to feed the Minotaur, and the championing of the striking Nursery Characters. Fforde''s book world is so real you will be wishing you could live there permanently, maybe even winning the coveted Bookie prize for most avid reader!

Age

Add Age Suitability

c
cjmpe
Mar 26, 2008

cjmpe thinks this title is suitable for

Summary

Add a Summary

c
cjmpe
Mar 26, 2008

Thursday Next (who's from an alternate version of our world) is hiding out in Bookworld in a pulp novel called Caversham Heights, where she's training to become a Jurisfiction Agent. The introduction of a new book system called UltraWord(TM) is nearing; it should spell the end of misspellings and the need to attribute speech to characters, among other things. But could it also be the reason why someone is bumping off Jurisfiction agents? At the same time, Thursday's old nemesis, Aornis is eating away at her memories.

Quotes

Add a Quote

c
cjmpe
Mar 26, 2008

"Who is the star of this novel? Who do the readers expect to see when they pick up this book? Me. Who has won "Most Troubled Romantic Lead" a the BookWorld Awards seventy-seven times in a row? Me. All me. Without me, (Wuthering) Heights is a tediously overlong provincial potboiler of insignificant interest. " - Heathcliff on his role in the book, during a rage councelling session

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top