Granted

Granted

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
1
Young fairy Ophelia gets her first wish granting assignment and discovers that, although the fate of the fairy world rests on her completing her task, the job of granting a human's wish is anything but easy.
Publisher: New York, NY : Walden Pond Press, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Edition: First Edition
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062643865
Branch Call Number: Fiction Anderson CHILD
Characteristics: 325 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_CarrieS Sep 27, 2019

I have enjoyed all of John David Anderson's books, but I LOVED Granted. It's a perfect blend of heart, adventure and humor. I had no idea that wish granting was such a serious and revered occupation, or one fraught with danger! When they were younger, my girls loved the Disney world of Tinkerbell and her friends and I can see some echoes of that here. Mind you, this is not a babyish story nor is it just for girls. It's fast paced, has a large cast of characters and mixes in a good dose of Mission Impossible style action. The first thing my daughter said on finishing the book was that it ought to be made into a series - this is a world we'd be happy to return and visit again and again!

a
AndLib1
Mar 22, 2019

Granted is a wonderful book for middle grade kids. Girls in particular, will relate to the main character of Ophelia Delphinium Fidgets, wish granting fairy. Anderson presents a 21st Fairy world without eliminating the magic and mystery of fairy lore.
Ophelia is on her first mission as a Granter. All she has to do is find the coin the girl wished on, sprinkle it with fairy dust, say the magic words, and then return home. Since Ophelia finished first in her class this should be easy, but the world outside “haven” is very different and can be dangerous to even a well-trained fairy.
As in Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, Anderson creates believable and loveable characters. Ophelia learns that sometimes one has to choose between two deserving people and the consequence of that choice. Making things right is not easy, but is worth the effort.
I would recommend this for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks series, Laura Amy Schlitz’s The Night Fairy and Edward Eager’s Half Magic series, and of course, John David Anderson’s other books.

t
The_Zookeeper
May 27, 2018

This is a great spin on the folklore of fairies. I love that they go out and grant wishes to people that will never know how their wish was granted. I very fun book.

Age

Add Age Suitability
a
AndLib1
Mar 22, 2019

AndLib1 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 12

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top