Following in the Buddha's Footsteps

Following in the Buddha's Footsteps

Book - 2019
Rate this:
"The fourth volume of the Dalai Lama's definitive series on the path to awakening, The Three Jewels of Refuge and the Three Higher Trainings, delves into the substance of spiritual practice. You'll first hear His Holiness's explanation of the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha, why they are reliable guides on the path, and how to relate to them. His Holiness then describes the three essential trainings common to all Buddhist traditions: the higher trainings in ethical conduct, concentration, and wisdom. The chapters on ethical conduct show us how to live a life free of harm to self or others. Those on concentration give us detailed instructions on how to develop single-pointed concentration as well as the higher states of concentration available to an earnest practitioner. The chapters on wisdom contain in-depth teachings on the noble eightfold path and the four establishments of mindfulness for developing greater awareness and understanding of our body, feelings, mind, and other phenomena. Together these topics form the core of Buddhist practice"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Somerville, MA : Wisdom Publications, [2019]
ISBN: 9781614296256
Branch Call Number: 294.3444 B849f 2019
Characteristics: pages cm
Additional Contributors: Thubten Chodron 1950-- Author


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at PCPL

To Top